Dr Guy Newbury

Lecturer at Pembroke College

MA (Oxon), MPhil (Sussex), PhD (Durham)


Composer and pianist. Research interests in the late-19th and 20th centuries, especially French and Polish music.


Guy Newbury was born in Inverness and educated there and at Magdalen College, Oxford. He studied piano with the late Denis Matthews and with Audrey Innes, and composition with John Joubert and Jonathan Harvey, before undertaking the PhD in Composition at the University of Durham under the supervision of John Casken. His works have been performed by leading soloists and ensembles including the BBC Philharmonic, the BBC Singers, Jane’s Minstrels, the Chamber Group of Scotland, Peter Lawson and Andrew Ball; he also maintains a commitment to new music within Oxford University and has received commissions from the Choir of Magdalen College and from the Oxford Sinfonietta. As a performer, he has been chiefly associated with lieder recitals and contemporary music, and is a founder member of Oxford University’s new music ensemble, ISIS. Since 1995 he has been Senior Lecturer in Music at Pembroke College.


Orchestral/large ensemble:

Momentanea (1990-91); Birthday Variation for Robert Saxton (2013); Intermezzo (2019)

Vocal with ensemble:

Winter Light (2003)


Midnight (1994); May (2000); Weary in Well-doing (2000); The Three Enemies (2013)

Solo vocal with piano:

O ombre vane (2001);‘Orpheus’(2002); Sanctuaries (2006); Adria (2008); Mountainside of Dreams (2010); ‘Tears’(2014); ‘Straight Talk from Fox’ (2017)

Other solo vocal:

‘In Tenebris’ (2003) for voice and cello; Ghost Children (2007) for voice, cl, vc, pf; Maerchen (2013) for voice and lute;‘Italia, io ti saluto’ (2018) for unaccompanied voice

Solo piano:

‘Marine’ (1987); Strandlooping (1993); Sonata (2002); Preludes (2010); Variations éphémères (2012)

Other solo instrumental:

‘Falaises’ (organ) (1997); Sonata (solo violin) (1998-99); ‘Tonadilla’(solo viola) (2018)


Promontoires for cello and piano (1992); Sonata for viola and piano (2004); Sonata for oboe and piano (2015);‘Fled is that music’ for bass viol or cello and piano (2015); Sonata for flute and piano (2016); Sonata for clarinet and piano (2017); Sonata for violin and piano (2018); Sonata for double bass and piano (2019)


Cassation (cl.,vn.,vc.,pf) (1996); ‘Asters’ for string quartet (2008)






Dr Guy Newbury
Pembroke College
Oxford OX1 4AU
tel. 01865-276444
fax 01865-276418