Oxford Philharmonic: Bruckner Seven

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 19
Bruckner Symphony No. 7 in E major, WAB 107

Paul Lewis piano
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Tickets £5-£54, book via the Oxford Phil website.

None of his works brought Anton Bruckner the joy and pride of his seventh symphony. This is the composer’s most delicately etched orchestral creation and his most instantly beautiful – a symphony that enshrines a heartfelt eulogy for Richard Wagner but thrusts with excitement and changeability too. For this culmination of our season at the Sheldonian Theatre, Marios Papadopoulos conducts Bruckner’s symphony here after Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2 – actually the composer’s first full-length orchestral work, and an imposingly assertive one at that.