St Giles Orchestra presents: Bizet, Dvorak and William Grant Still

Tickets are available at the door - £11, concessions £10 (under 18s free). Payment by cash or card.


Bizet  L'Arlesienne: Suite No. 1
William Grant Still  Afro-American Symphony
Dvorak  New World Symphony No. 9

Conducted by Dwight Pile-Gray

Come and join us on Saturday evening for a journey into music inspired by the American experience!

The concert this Saturday offers an exciting opportunity to hear the symphony by early 20th century African American composer William Grant Still in full, The work is of particular interest as it represents several firsts: it was the first work by an African American composer to be played by an established orchestra in America; the first to use blues-inspired idioms and the blues as a basis for musical themes; and it was the first symphony to feature the banjo.

The concert also includes Dvorak’s well known “New World Symphony”. Though composed some 40 years apart by composers from very different backgrounds, the two symphonies are bound together by the strong influence of Spirituals. 

See attached poster. For further information visit