Oxford Chamber Music Festival Summer Concert

Tickets £38, a limited number of free Cavatina tickets is available for 8-25 year olds.

Emmanuel Despax, piano
Claude Frochaux, cello
Guy Johnston, cello
Priya Mitchell, violin

Ravel Sonata for violin and cello (20')
Brahms Trio No. 1 in B major, Opus 8 (38')

Come and join Oxford Chamber Music Festival at their unique Summer Concert at one of Oxford's most iconic landmarks, Christ Church Cathedral. Enjoy live music, delicious food, and great company. This event is the perfect way to experience the unmatched Oxford Chamber Music Festival atmosphere and is not to be missed.

Ticket prices include a pre-concert reception with drinks and canapes, plus a closing drinks party.

Ravel's magical sonata for Violin and Cello was written between 1920 and 1922. He dedicated it to Claude Debussy, who had died in 1918. It is one of the great masterpieces for both instruments and is in turn dreamy, ferocious, humorous and incredibly evocative. Brahms completed his Piano Trio no. 1 in January 1854, when the composer was only twenty years old. It is the only of his works which appears in two published versions, as he revised it in 1889, though it is usually the revised version which is performed today. It is considered one of the greatest piano trios ever written.

Details of OCMF's Autumn festival programme will be released at the event. 'These Enchanted Isles' from 23-29 September 2024 celebrates the boundless creativity of music inspired by the British Isles.