Elena Fischer-Dieskau

Tickets £35 - £5, can be bought via the JdP website.

Haydn: ‘Emperor’ Quartet in C major, Op. 76, No. 3
Elizabeth Maconchy (1907-1994): String Quartet No. 9 (1968)
Beethoven: Quartet in C# minor, Op. 131

In tonight’s concert, the Villiers Quartet give a rare performance of the characteristically inventive and multi-faceted ninth quartet of Elizabeth Maconchy, a composition that communicates a great deal more than its fifteen-minutes duration might suggest. This is contrasted with two of their respective composers' most expansive works—Beethoven’s seven-movement Op. 131 and Haydn’s ‘Emperor’ Quartet, whose famous slow movement is a set of variations based on the melody that has since become the German national anthem.

with pre-concert talk by Dr Peter Copley at 18:45