Nigel Kennedy: Bach Now!

Tickets £60-£20 (students from £5), can be booked via the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra Website.

Bach Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major, BWV 1042 
Nigel Kennedy Melody in the Wind
Bach Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor, BWV 1060R
Bach Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, BWV 1041 
Nigel Kennedy Fallen Forest for solo violin
Bach Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV 1043

Nigel Kennedy violin/director
Anna-Liisa Bezrodny violin 
Nicholas Daniel oboe

Leipzig didn’t just draw the finest sacred music from Bach. When the composer took over the city’s secular music society Collegium Musicum, he produced a string of orchestral works in a flush of creativity. Among them were the composer’s violin concertos – concise, mature scores in which his characteristic focus seems somehow even more intense. Violin legend Nigel Kennedy plays Bach’s solo concertos here and is joined by our outstanding Associate Concertmaster Anna-Liisa Bezrodny for the composer’s celebrated Double Concerto with its monumental slow movement. Oboe supremo Nicholas Daniel is on hand for the ‘original’ oboe version of the concerto you might know better in its version for two harpsichords.