Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra presents: Rachmaninov Two

Tickets £5-£54, can be booked via the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra website.

Tchaikovsky Polonaise and Waltz from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24* Side-by-Side
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18 
Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27 

Lise de la Salle piano
Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey conductor*
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

There’s a reason Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 is the most popular work of its kind ever written. From lonely chords, this iconic score hurtles towards a thundering climax via a succession of irresistible melodies – athletic one moment and heart-rending the next. Six years later, the composer freed himself from political turmoil with a stretch in Dresden that would become one of the most productive of his career. The standout result was a symphony powered by melody that encompasses infernal whirlwinds, passionate declarations of love and heartfelt reflections of peace. French pianist Lise de la Salle joins us for this feast of peak Rachmaninov, opening with livewire dances from his great forbear Tchaikovsky.

Young Artists’ Platform
Pre-concert recital 18:30
Supported by The D’Oyly Carte Charitable Trust