Trinity Recitals: James Ehnes (violin) & Andrew Armstrong (piano)

Book your tickets via Tickets Oxford (£25, £5 students).

Leclair: Sonata Op. 9, No. 3

Shostakovich: Sonata

Sinding: Suite in the Old Style Op. 10

Sarasate: Spanish Dances Op. 22

Wieniawski: Polonaise Brillante Op. 21

Critics tend to fall over themselves when describing Canadian violinist James Ehnes: “The wondrous James Ehnes, a thinker of the violin as well as a supreme virtuoso of the instrument” wrote the Daily Telegraph. But why take their word for it, when you can hear him for yourself - playing with his regular collaborator Andrew Armstrong in a programme that sets the power of Shostakovich’s brooding Violin Sonata against the sheer dazzlement of the 19th century virtuoso tradition?

Tickets £25 / £5 (students)