Trinity Recitals - Natalie Clein (cello)

Book your tickets via the Tickets Oxford website (£25, £5 students)

Bach: Cello Suite No. 3 in C major, BWV 1009

Taverner: Thrinos

Bach: Cello Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011

Kodály: Sonata for Solo Cello, Op. 8

A solo cello can create a universe: all it takes is four strings and a bow. Bach’s great suites for unaccompanied cello are that universe’s alpha and omega, and in this recital Natalie Clein will play both the sunlit C major Suite and its dark, majestic doppelgänger: the Suite in C minor. But there’s also quiet rapture from John Tavener and the folk-inspired flights of Kodály’s mighty Solo Sonata – meat and drink to a cellist as commanding as Clein.

Tickets £25 / £5 (students)